USEFUL ANT LINKS

Moreau Lab Ant Collection & Imaging Protocols

• High-Resolution Imaging w/ Leica Application Suite Manual | PDF |
• Moreau Lab Ant Databasing Project Protocols | PDF |

Ant Species Catalogs and Taxonomy

• AntWeb (high-resolution ant specimen images and regional species lists): http://www.antweb.org
• AntCat (ant taxonomic authority and catalog): http://www.antcat.org
• Antbase (ant taxonomic authority and primary literature): http://antbase.org
• AntWiki (ant taxonomy, morphology, etc.): http://www.antwiki.org
• Hymenoptera Online (HOL); catalogue, taxonomic name usages in the literature, etc.): http://hol.osu.edu/
• Fossil Insect Database: http://edna.palass-hosting.org/search.php

Ant Ecology

• Global Ant Database: http://globalants.org/
• Ant Profiler (database of ecological characters): http://www.antprofiler.org
• Ant Macroecology: http://www.antmacroecology.org

Ant Molecular and Genetic Data

• GenBank: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/gquery/?term=formicidae
• Ant Genomes Blast Portal: http://hymenopteragenome.org/ant_genomes/?q=blast
• Ant Genomics Database – Fourmidable: http://antgenomes.org
• Ant Genomics Community Portal: http://www.antgenomics.org
• Animal Genome Size Database: http://www.genomesize.com
• Insect Mitochondrial Genome Database: http://imgd.riceblast.snu.ac.kr/index.php?a=view
• Formicidae Barcode of Life: http://www.formicidaebol.org
• Karyotype counts: http://www.antwiki.org/wiki/Karyotype_counts

Ant Literature

• FORMIS (bibliography of ant literature): http://www.ars.usda.gov/Research/docs.htm?docid=10003
• Antbase (ant taxonomic authority and primary literature): http://antbase.org
• William L. Brown Memorial Digital Library: http://ripley.si.edu/ent/nmnhtypedb/wlb
• Biodiversity Literature Repository: http://biolitrepo.org

Ant Distributions

• Ant distribution maps for all ant genera by genus and countries: http://www.antwiki.org/wiki/Distribution_and_Diversity
• Ant distribution maps by species and regions: http://antmaps.org/
• GBIF (Global Biodiversity Information Facility): http://www.gbif.org

Ant and Insect Morphology

• AntWiki morphology, anatomy, & terminology: http://www.antwiki.org/wiki/Morphology_and_Terminology
• Ant eMuseum (ant morphology glossary): http://projects.biodiversity.be/ants/glossary/termsList
• Antkey glossary (ant morphology glossary): http://antkey.org/lexicon/43
• Glossary of Surface Sculpture: http://antbase.org/ants/publications/harris1979.html
• Hymenoptera Anatomy Ontology Portal (terminology definitions): http://portal.hymao.org/projects/32/public/ontology/

Regional and Other Identification Guides

• AntWeb (high-resolution ant specimen images and regional species lists): http://www.antweb.org
• Antkey (identification of invasive and introduced ants): http://antkey.org
• Discover Life (ant ID nature guides): http://www.discoverlife.org/20/q?search=Formicidae
• AntWiki Identification Key: http://www.antwiki.org/wiki/Category:Identification_key
• Ants of Costa Rica: http://academic.evergreen.edu/projects/ants/AntsofCostaRica.html
• Japanese Ant Image Database: http://ant.edb.miyakyo-u.ac.jp/E/index.html
• New World Army Ants: http://www.armyants.org
• Ants of North America: http://www.utep.edu/leb/antgenera.htm
• Pheidole Working Group: http://academic.evergreen.edu/projects/ants/pheidoleworkinggroup/index.htm
• Pheidole of Tiputini Ecuador: http://www.amymertl.com/Pheidole.html
• Ants in Vietnam: http://www.antist2007.com/Diversity/main.html
• Fiji Ants: http://www.elisarnat.com/research/the-ants-of-fiji
• Invasive Ants of the Pacific Islands: http://www.piakey.com
• Ants of the Southwestern US: http://mississippientomologicalmuseum.org.msstate.edu//Researchtaxapages/Formicidaehome.html
• Ants of Illinois: http://campus.lakeforest.edu/menke/Resources/AntGeneraKey/antkey_illinois.html

Misc.

• Field Museum of Natural History ant collections: http://fieldmuseum.org//explore/our-collections/ant-formicidae-collection
• World ant taxonomists: http://www.antwiki.org/wiki/World_Ant_Taxonomists
• Encyclopedia of Life (EOL): http://eol.org/pages/699/overview
• AntArk (an introduction to myrmecology): http://www.antark.net
• Ant Course: http://research.calacademy.org/ent/courses/ant
• Alex Wild Photography: http://www.alexanderwild.com/Ants
• AntBlog: http://www.antweb.org/antblog

moreau ORANGE LOGO